Check out this feature video that was added to our recent 4.31 Release.
Batch Entry Auto Save
Batch Entry has been enhanced to automatically assign a batch number and save when a Formula ID is entered. The user is no longer required to click “Save” in order to generate a batch number.
Quick note: When a batch is deleted and its batch number is the last batch assigned, the batch number will be re-used. This eliminates “holes” in batch numbering that might occur for example if the wrong formula is selected when a new batch is created.